Organic Kitchen Gardening and my personal musings

This blog is about my experiments with Organic Kitchen Gardening and sometimes about other personal experiences of my life… Please leave a comment about anything that touched you. Comments help to keep the blogger motivated to keep blogging :)

Got my first composter August 26, 2009


My first indroduction to the idea of composting at home was through reading of some gardening blogs. Then while doing some googling on the net I came across this organization called DailyDump who had some very neatly designed terracota composters.

Just in case you are wondering what is composting, here is the definition from dailydump site:
Composting is the decomposition of plant remains and other once-living materials to make an earthy, dark, crumbly substance that enriches soil. It is a process of recycling your kitchen and garden wastes, and is a critical step in reducing the volume of garbage needlessly sent to landfills for disposal.

At first I felt they were a bit too expensive and I wasn’t confident enough to sink that kind of money for this. Also in b’lore transportation for such bulky items can be very expnsive. They add to the overall cost very unfavourably.

then few days back I heard about this online store Gardengiga. They are a start up and claim to be the first online garden store in India. After speaking to them and being assured of a free home delivery (as i was only their second customer) I placed an online order for the Kambha-composter.

In just 3 days from placing the order I received the delivery of this Colored Kambha composter. Here it is:

Medium size colored kambha composter

Medium size colored composter


It's modular

It's modular


the bottom of top 2 module is wired

the bottom of top 2 module is wired

This also came with a very useful handbook which made it look very hassle free.

Personally one thing I like most about owning a composter is it helps me reduce my plastic bags usage. How ??

For some time now I have been trying to avoid taking polythene bags from shopskeepers. I normally try to carry jute or other bags along while going for shopping. But then, as per my home minister the plastic bags which we get from these shops are normally useful in disposal of garbage. So, now with less garbage to dispose (As all organic waste goes into composter) I will need less of these plastic bags.

Hope in 2-3 month’s time the first batch of compost will be ready and my plants will be happy to feed on them.

 

14 Responses to “Got my first composter”

  1. Where do you plan to keep it ?Does it need an open space to keep ? BTW, I see only large and small ones at GardenGiga, is this a small sized one ?

    • rajapanda Says:

      I plan to kept it outdoors in my garden. Actually I had ordered for a small one from GardenGiga, but since the supplier had no stock for the small ones, and GardenGiga didn’t want to lose just their second customer they offered me the large one for the price of small one πŸ™‚

  2. Santosh Says:

    Seems like a very good pastime for you. btw so called “Gardengiga” what they do? I don’t see any implantation!
    But they look very colourful. πŸ™‚

    • rajapanda Says:

      Thanks Santosh for visiting my blog.
      Definitely it’s a very good time pass and very relaxing too.

      GardenGiga is just a online shop kind. They ultimately aim to become an intermediary between the buyers and suppliers of garden things.

      Apparently the owner of GardenGiga is software professional with experience in web development and just starting out his own enterprenuial venture. Hence, a colorful website (If that’s what you meant to say πŸ™‚ )

  3. liza Says:

    join the gang! πŸ™‚ i have been filling mine for the past 3 weeks now and its doing great. no hassles. just waiting for that first batch of compost!

    • rajapanda Says:

      Thanks Liza,

      The initial wait period is longer (Guess 3 month’s or so..), but once the cycle starts, the next one may come sooner.

  4. Kanak Says:

    Hi Raj, I checked out the links and found out that delivery is only within your city. Sigh! I hope Guwahati is added later! Your composter looks neat and the will surely add a colourful look to the garden.
    Congrats on your wonderful veggie harvest. Although we get okras with a reddish tinge, the ones you’ve grown have unusual shapes. Very nice!

    • rajapanda Says:

      Hi Kanak,

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a remark. GardenGiga, is a new company and have delivery option only for B’lore. Hmm.. li’l sad. I suggest you get in touch with the dailydump guys. Am sure, they are trying to expand their network and who knows they might come up with some idea for Guwahati.
      Even I had never seen Okra’s of these shape’s in the market, at the moment am enjoying their harvest.

  5. […] journey to fulfil this requirement of my plants started sometime in August last year when i got the compost pit for my garden and today a significant milestone has been acheived as i got my first batch of compost from it. […]

  6. Sunil Says:

    Hi Raj,
    I thought of making it at home, can you please help me by taking some detailed photo of it? I am thinking of using plastic buckets (20lts) 3 layered same as yours.
    A detailed photo of this composter will give me better idea.
    Regards,
    Sunil

    • rajapanda Says:

      Hi Sunil,
      Completely agree with you. It can be a good DIY project.
      I can try sharing few more detailed pics, althoug I have a feeling the pics presented above have captured the basic components well enough. Let me try to explain the components, hopefully that will help you.

      Out of the 3 units, only one has the base intact. The other 2 have their bases removed and replaced by arrangement of strings as shown in the 3rd pic above. Then in the sides of all 3 units little holes have been made and covered with a plastic netting. The intention being to allow air to pass through for aero composting at the same time not allowing the flies and other insects to come out. Only on of the top covers is used as the top of the other two units get covered by the unit on top of it. Essentially that is all it takes to make this composter.

      Hope my explanation helped.

      Regards
      Raj

  7. Sunil Says:

    Thanks Raj, I got the idea from your detailing. But I have few doubts. Wiring done on top 2 units is sufficient to hold the vegetable wastes or anything as such? Also did u get any specific directions on how to get the desired output?
    Importantly why do you need 3 units ( I understand last unit is to hold the compost)
    Thanks and Regards,
    Sunil

    • rajapanda Says:

      We have to put a 2-3 layered newspaper on the wire mesh before starting to put the waste material. Yes there is a booklet which came with the composter. You can find most of the instruction here at http://dailydump.org/ though.

      Regards
      Raj

  8. sameer Says:

    I just started my kitchen gardening a few days back. Planted papaya, brinjal, ladies finger, bitter gourd, beans, I am from Bhubaneswar, Odisha. Papaya is only 15 days old. Is there any fertilizer time for the papaya?


Leave a Reply

