Organic Kitchen Gardening and my personal musings

This blog is about my experiments with Organic Kitchen Gardening and sometimes about other personal experiences of my life… Please leave a comment about anything that touched you. Comments help to keep the blogger motivated to keep blogging :)

Harvest of Tomatoes and Lettuce September 1, 2009

Filed under: Organic Farming and Kitchen Garden — rajapanda @ 2:33 pm

I got thrid time lucky with lettuce. Had bought seeds of 4 varieties from DOH, Hulimavu. Lettuce is one leafy vegetable which I just adore because, one can eat them raw, they taste best in sandwich and salads and are so expensive in the market.

First time I sowed those tiny seeds I probably sowed them a bit too deep in the soil, probably 1″ deep 😦 . So, very predictably they never came to life. I waited and waited and waited…. When I decided to sow them again I made the mistake of sowing them on the surface and ants made merry. In 6 hours all the seeds were gone!!

Third time probably I got the things right. I covered the seeds with just a very thin film of sand/soil mix. Voila they germinated, but again the germination ratio wasn’t quite good (Makes me wonder, is this a common problem with the seeds from DoH ??). Also, from the crop it looks like only one out of the 4 varieties germinated. But now that I have started harvesting them, first this tiny bunch, my joy knows no bound.

Lettuce

Lettuce

I enjoyed them thoroughly. What doubles the joy is, they are also part of my current experiment on growing things in bright shade. These have grown in a place where there is absolutely no direct sunlight. The nearest sunlight comes to them is 6 ft away from where they stand. Also growing healthily (till now) under same conditions are Palak(regularly harvesting), Cherry Tomatoes and Methi(fenugreek) leafs.

Then I also harvested these tomatoes. They are of Punjabi Choara variety (seeds from lalbagh).

Tomatoes

Tomatoes

The round ones here are probably of nati(local) variety. Because I never planted them, the seeds came from the gobar compost which I had used.
DSC03760

Here is another batch of harvest.

tomato harvest

tomato harvest

Looks like there is more to come, as still there are tomatoes in different stages of their life and probably the harvest should continue for another 3-4 weeks.

Tomatoes in the plant

Tomatoes in the plant

With my first experience of growing tomatoes I also got a taste of pests which attack tomatoes.
I feared these are affected by ‘late blight’ and researched the topic on net. But ‘late blight’ are known to be fast spreading fungus which are capable of wiping out complete crops. They are also the cause for Irish potato famine of the 1840s. But nothing of that sort has happened with my crop till now. So, am not sure.

Is that late blight ?

Is that late blight ?

Is that late bligh?

Is that late bligh?

Meanwhile am making hay while the sun still shines.

 

16 Responses to “Harvest of Tomatoes and Lettuce”

  1. Raghu Says:

    hey nice tomatoes. i will post the pic of my next harvest 🙂

  2. Looks like you have enough veggies to be self sustainable! We have had the same experience with Capsicum seeds from DoH – they never came out, but tomatoes and ladies’ fingers were pretty good. We too have an odd man natti tomato in one of our pots – it came out on the edge and we were wondering where it came from!

    • rajapanda Says:

      Not yet Jayadeep. I need to put lot more types of veggies to reach self sustainability. Initial results are surely encouraging though. In fact am planning to increase the area under cultivation by getting rid of the lawn. Reaching self sustainability would be like a dream come true.

      Getting good quality seeds at the right price is surely a challenge. In my native they sell unbranded and loose seeds for very low price, so am planning to get few on my trip this month-end.
      Also I came across one guy from Sahaja Samrudha http://sahajasamrudha.org/ in the AMEF training. They seem to be interested in giving lot of services to us gardeners. But the one time joining fee, I feel is very high(Rs. 500/-).

  3. Sapna Says:

    Late blight attacks leaves and stems before the fruit. Look for fungus (gray moldy leathery) patches on the stems, specially early mornings (dewy conditions). But late blight is ruthless, the plant dies in matter of 2-3 days. In any case, ventilate individual plants, avoid over (or uneven) watering, over fertilization. Best would be to water in the mornings.

    Since you have rot on the green fruit, its not post-harvest fruit rot. Google for tomato fruit rot with images. All the best.

    • rajapanda Says:

      Hi Sapna,

      My pleasure to have you visit my blog. Actually my plants were not very well ventilated, because few natti varieties tomatoes seeds grew from the gobar(compost) along with what I had planted.
      Now after seeing pics of tomato rot, I guess it could be that. Actually the weather in B’lore has been very cloudy and rainy in the days when my tomato crop had started maturing.

  4. Urban Green Says:

    Wow! You inspire me to get serious about my kitchen garden. Please keep posting more, it’s a pleasure.

    http://www.theurbanbalcony.blogspot.com/

  5. Deva Jyothi Singh Says:

    Panda bhai… Kewl going ha… Was gardening your hobby from college?

    • rajapanda Says:

      Hi Deba,

      Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment.
      I guess liking for gardening was always there, but I wasn’t doing anything on it. Now I am sort of doing it actively.

  6. nice blog and what a mouth watering bunch of tomatoes, mouth watering treat. keep posting.

  7. roundrockgarden Says:

    you got some nice looking veggies there! good job. looks like we’re both new to blotanical!

    • rajapanda Says:

      Hi,
      Thanks for stopping by my blogI and leaving a comment. I am very new to blotanical, but already liking it. It has got so many interesting bloggers.

  8. Flowers Says:

    Your harvest of tomatoes and lettuce looks wonderful. It was nice going through your blog. keep it up the good work. Cheers 🙂


Leave a Reply

