Organic Kitchen Gardening and my personal musings

This blog is about my experiments with Organic Kitchen Gardening and sometimes about other personal experiences of my life… Please leave a comment about anything that touched you. Comments help to keep the blogger motivated to keep blogging :)

Indian Spinach & Next Gardening Course from DoH, Hulimavu April 21, 2010

Filed under: Organic Farming and Kitchen Garden — rajapanda @ 4:14 am

DoH, Hulimau is condicting it’s next Organic Terrace Gardening course on 23rd and 24th of this month April’10. I had earlier blogged about the course content in a post here.

Here is the number of Mr. Chunchaiah – 9916433061.
You can contact him and book a seat for yourself. Of course you can register on the spot too. I got the information from them yesterday evening only 😦

Also, there are around 10 Indian Spinach plants with me which i would like to give to people who would be willing to grow them. If someone can carry them from my place to DoH and distribute to willing people I’ll be very glad.

I won’t be able to attend this course owing to some other commitments.

Here are few snaps of a grown up Indian Spinach from my garden

Indian spinach - Grown from seed

To give an idea of the size of the leaf, here is another picture which also has the small hand of a 3 and half year old kid.\

 

34 Responses to “Indian Spinach & Next Gardening Course from DoH, Hulimavu”

  1. Wow – Look at the size of those babies!

    I did some research on growing spinach and found that it grows best in cool climates. That means I can’t grow it in Chennai where it never goes below 25 degrees right?

    • rajapanda Says:

      Hi Bhagwad,

      May be what you found out is true for only Spinach but Indian Spinach is different and very suitable to Indian conditions. In Orissa (My home state – where the temp is probably as good/bad as Chennai) this plant is grown in abundance and it’s a delicacy when added to non-veg curries like Fish curry.
      Also, for regular spinach you can try growing under bright shade even in Chennai. I guess it will do ok.

      Regards
      Raj

      • Thanks a lot! I guess most of what we read online has to do with temperate climates.

        What we need is a good authentic resource for Indian vegetables meant to be grown for Indian weather.

        For example, most articles on growing tomatoes start with “Begin sowing 3 weeks before the last frost”. Frost? What frost? So we don’t have anything especially meant for us 😦

        • rajapanda Says:

          What we find on line probably has more to do with Mediterranean type of climate as content is mostly created by people from Europe and US.
          I agree on the point that there are very few appealing books and on line resources for growing veggies in India.

          Regards
          Raj

    • rajapanda Says:

      Forgot to say one more thing. This particular plant is grown under bright shade and has never seen direct sunlight.

      Regards
      Raj

  2. Chandramouli Says:

    Spinach looks fresh and yummy! Mmmmm… I wish I could attend the lectures. Let me see if I can make it…. Thanks for the info, Raja.

  3. Sumathy Says:

    Hi Raj,

    Wow, good healthy spinach. Please save some seeds for me. I pllan to collect the beans seeds soon. I am getting the pots ready:-). Have got some seeds for you too.

    Thanks for the info.

    regards,
    Sumathy

  4. Sunil Says:

    Hi Raj,
    I would like to have one plant from, how can I get one?
    Also I lately realized you have last name as Panda, My friend who is from Orissa has same last name. His name is Surjit Panda.

    Regards,
    Sunil

    • rajapanda Says:

      Hi Sunil,

      Yup, you rightly noticed. Am a native of Orissa.
      I stay around 5 kms from Silk Board, HSR BDA, Sarjapura Circle (3 different routes).

      Let me know if you can come and pick it up. I can then share my address and number with you over mail.

      Regards
      Raj

  5. lavanya Says:

    i am growing veggie garden in Cleveland with baby steps, i guess i can stop by here often for ideas.

  6. Sunil Says:

    Hi Raj,
    I stay in Malleshwaram and for me it is little far to come. Is there any way you can send me the seeds? I will pay for the courier.
    Let me know, I will send you the details by mail.
    Regards,
    Sunil

    • rajapanda Says:

      Hi Sunil,
      I can do that. But the problem is, Indian Spinach seeds are very soft and easily get crushed. I don’t think they will survive the pressure of a courier journey. Also the cost of courier will be far more than or equal to the cost that you need to pay to buy it from a local nursery.
      I had got mine from Lalbagh. Hmm.. We need to find someone who travels from Malleswaram to this side 😦
      I sometimes travel to R.T Nagar, i’ll ping you the next time i am travelling to that side, may be you can come and pick it up from there.

      Regards
      Raj

  7. Sunil Says:

    Yeah you make sense, I am frequent visitor to Lalbagh. I can check it over there. But if you have any plan to visit RT Nagar. Please ping me on gtalk. You may be knowing my gmail id.
    Regards,
    Sunil

  8. K. Meena Says:

    Hi Raj:

    Just wanted to add… Indian Spinach plantsa are available at DOH, Hulimavu – both varieties, the pink and the green ones.

    Also, I just wanted to share that I have seen many homes in Chennai, including that of my parents, wherein the Indian spinach grows profusely. At home, it used to reach the second floor very fast, with thick foliage growth.

    Regards
    Meena K

  9. K. Meena Says:

    Hi Raj:

    I wanted to share with you my dilemmas about procurement and use of organic manure:

    1. In LalBagh, I was told that they sell only leaf-based compost, not the well-rotted farmyard manure which is highly recommended in many articles in the net. Where can we get this?
    2. Where can we get pungam ,cotton seed, neem cake etc. in bulk?
    3. When we use organic manure like the ones I have mentioned, How do we know the NPK proportion? Specifically, how do we know we are applying the right fertilizer at the right phase of the plant life cycle – like growth, bloom, fruiting etc.

    Regards
    Meena K

    • rajapanda Says:

      Hi Meena,

      Here is my response to your queries.

      1. Yes farmyard manure is any day better than compost. I get my share of gobar compost (very close to farmyard manure) from my local milk supplying amma – a very kind hearted lady who supplies me cow milk, she has around 4 cows.
      2. You can get neem cake, mustard oil cake etc in new Theragupet area near city market. Recently i discovered these sources and got few kgs.
      3. You are right, It’s difficult to pinpoint the concentration of NPK in the compost from the different sources. At best it’s a guess. I seeked help from one expert(Dr.Viswanath) to get more info on your other question and here is what he had to say:

      1. ensure growing media has initial nutrtion
      2. first application when U see the first flower—— give one
      handful per plant (150gms)
      3. after that same ammount every 20 days or 3 weeks once
      4. continue till the flower production gets reduced

      I too have been following this advice and often give different kind of supplements like compost from DoH, neem cake seeds, gobar compost, compost from home from time to time.

      Hope this helps.

      Regards
      Raj

  10. meenakm Says:

    Hi Raj:

    Thanks for your inputs on organic manure. I will go to NT pet and get some manure. Is there any street there which has a cluster of these shops selling manure?

    Regards
    Meena K

    • rajapanda Says:

      I think the street itself is named as new Theragupet.

      It’s a single street i believe. while one end of the street has few wholesale rice shops, the other end has around 6-7 shops selling seeds,manure,all kind chemical pesticides etc etc…

      Unfortunately the locals were not very helpful in giving directions to that street and the first time i went there spent quite a bit of time locating it 😦

      Regards
      Raj

  11. G. Ramachandra Rao Says:

    Hi Raj,

    I am also very much interested in cultivating the vegitables. I stay near to HSR layout, Somasandra palya. From the above thread I saw you also stay near by HSR. Could you please share your address? I would like to come and see your garden. Also if possible I would like to collect some seeds from you.

    Regards,
    Ramachandra Rao

  12. Manish Says:

    Hi

    I am a big fan of vegitable farming and have done a lot of it but in broken fashion , but never from start to end .

    What is indian spinach ? and why dont we see it in market ? or do we ?

    Manish

    • rajapanda Says:

      Hi Manish,

      That’s great. Indian spinach is not so famous here in Bangalore but we do get it, in the local sabji mandi’s like Madiwala market.
      It’s used widely in eastern part of the country like Orissa,WB… In fact we use it along with non-veg curries too… It has a very distinct flavor and is a very rich source of iron.

      Regards
      Raja

  13. G. Ramachandra Rao Says:

    Hi Raj,

    I would like say thank you for inviting me and showing your beautiful graden. By the way I met you on June 17th. The papaya you gave me is so tasty and my kids also relished very much. I planted the lettue seeds and now I can see small plants.

    Thanks,
    Ramachandra Rao

  14. rajapanda Says:

    That’s great Ramachandra. Glad that kid’s liked the papaya. hope you get some fresh lettuce soon πŸ™‚

    Regards
    Raja

  15. manisha Says:

    Hi, i want to start a kitchen garden on my terrace. Could you please let me know where you have got the organic seeds to start with.
    Thanks.
    Best wishes
    manisha

    • rajapanda Says:

      Hi Manisha,

      Good Wishes to you for your intention to start your kitchen garden. You can get seeds in Lalbagh (NurseryMen Co-op society). You get both hybrid as well as nati varities there (hybrid ones will have it clearly mentioned on the pack).

      If you start with nati varieties it will be a good start, and if you can save few seeds from your own crop for the next that will be pure organic (provided you don’t use any chemical or artifical things while growing).

      All in all I would say don’t pay a lot of attention to getting organic seeds in the beginning. Just start with something (even if it’s hyrid)

      Regards
      Raja

  16. ARUL Says:

    I am very impressed with your posts.Thanks for the trouble you are taking to educate new gardeners!
    I am just starting my kitchen garden in Chennai, in the open space available around my flat. What is the material i put into the pots? Can I mix Red soil+Sand+Cow dung? When I applied cow dung on an earlier occasion, I saw insects (vandu) coming out of the cow dung and also lots of ants. Could you please guide me on this.
    Arul

  17. Meenakshi Says:

    Hi,

    Thanks for your wonderful blog on gardening and all the seasonal harvest you’ve promptly shared. I would be interested in panchagavya and coco-peat(is there a place I can buy?). I live near bellandur. I see you mentioning sarjapura road often, so thought may be you are staying close by.
    Wishing you all the best!
    Thanks,
    Meenakshi

  18. shilpa Says:

    I m curious. what kind of spinach is this? I am from maharashtra and hv never seen this kind of a creeper used as vegetable.

  19. Jan Says:

    Your spinach looks really healthy. I too have both red and green variety in my terrace garden, but they don’t grow well. Though grows big, starts producing fruit very early and leaves are also not healthy to consume. May I know how you are maintaining yours? Thanks

  20. mohan Says:

    Great blog, have a farm near bangalore, hv tried sweetcorn, livestock ,now planning coriander , methi,palak,mint
    Undershade net, have orders from foriegn buyers , need pasionate person who loves farming to coordinate the project.
    Email: mohansigpatil@gmail.co
    m


Leave a Reply

