Organic Kitchen Gardening and my personal musings

This blog is about my experiments with Organic Kitchen Gardening and sometimes about other personal experiences of my life… Please leave a comment about anything that touched you. Comments help to keep the blogger motivated to keep blogging :)

Day’s Harvest April 28, 2010

Filed under: Organic Farming and Kitchen Garden — rajapanda @ 6:25 am

Have been very busy for the past few days. Although there is plenty to write, time is at a premium. My mother and father have come down to Bangalore and time just flies by discussing all the plants πŸ™‚

At the same time, i’m probably going through one of the best patches in terms of harvest from the garden.

Here is a snap of the harvest we had today.

day's harvest

It’s all coming together, from left top it is lettuce, radish leaves, kosala saga ( a kind of green – am not sure of the English name), brinjal, beans, capsicum, tomato and okra.

I am getting this kind of harvest once in almost every 3-4 days. Do i need to say all the hard work is paying off πŸ™‚

Hope to do the next post on the complete life cycle of some of these plants, i.e., from seed starting to harvest and seed saving.
Ciao till then!!

 

31 Responses to “Day’s Harvest”

  1. Chandramouli Says:

    That’s one helluva harvest, Raja. Keep rocking!

  2. indrani Says:

    Hello,

    It must be pretty encouraging and so much fun to harvest all those veggies. Hopefully they are better tasting too.

    Fruits of labour? Veggies of labour maybe…!!

    Regards,
    Indrani.

    • rajapanda Says:

      Oh they are absolutely tastier than the ones we get from the market. One can attribute this difference in taste either to the organic growing methods or probably because we get it so fresh unlike the one’s in market.

      Veggies of labour they are πŸ™‚

      Regards
      Raj

  3. sudha Says:

    thats super cool raj…is kosala called amaranthus ?

    • rajapanda Says:

      Not sure Sudha,

      I have never heard of a English name for it.
      Just like parwal which so famous as potal in Orissa (less so in B’lore) and i don’t seem to find a English name for that too.

      Regards
      Raj

  4. Asha Says:

    Awesome awesome awesome… looks like a dream to me!
    Very inspiring too.

  5. GoodEarth Says:

    Thumbs up for your efforts Raj! Nature has blessed you for all your hardwork πŸ™‚

    A couple of questions:
    1. Any idea whether the Pusa Ruby variety of tomato is determinate / indeterminate?
    2. The beans that you harvested, can it be grown in containers? If so, wht shud be the ideal size of the container?

  6. Sumathy Says:

    Hi Raj,
    Wonderful! So fresh and healthy! Good work. Yes I know how happy you would feel when you harvest, cook and eat them.
    Where did you get Okra and brinjal seeds from? Can we grow them in pot? I mean ca we get a good harvest if we grow them in pots. I am looking forward for your post on the complete lifecycle.

    regards,
    Sumathy

    • rajapanda Says:

      Hi sumathy,

      Thanks for all the compliments and good wishes. Gardening as a hobby is really worthwhile.

      Regarding your question on source of seeds. I have to admit i am lucky to find so many nice friends in my apartment who bring me seeds from all over India πŸ™‚
      Brinjals seeds are from Delhi and okra from Panipat.
      Regardless of the source i think you can get local seeds and they will do equally or even better.
      Right now all my okra plants are growing in 21″ containers . I have around 3-4 plants in each container and they are giving me very good harvest.
      Brinjal although are in soil, i have put too many plants in too little space and still they are doing well. So, i think one plant per container should do well.

      Regards
      Raj

  7. Jnaneshwar Says:

    Hi Raj,

    Just bumped into your site seeing comments from skippy’s garden. That’s an awesome garden! I am glad you are doing it the organic way. Keep up the good work!

    JS

    • rajapanda Says:

      Hi JS,

      Yup, I just love the site and visit it often. Checked out your site too, nice beginning πŸ™‚
      See you around.

      Regards
      Raj

  8. Pattu Says:

    Hi,
    Came via GG.
    Heartwarming and mouth watering pics.:-)
    I have added your blog to my feeds. Hope it is ok?

    I would like to know is there anyone offering training in kitchen garden in Hyderabad?

    Thanks.

    • rajapanda Says:

      Hi Pattu,

      Thanks for the compliments. Absolutely ok with you adding the feed, in fact it’s a honor πŸ™‚

      Here is a list of workshops around Bangalore. Am not sure any workshop in Hyderabad though.
      1. AMEF–Agriculture Man Ecology Foundation
      contact person Ms.Shobha – 26699512/522 in the month of may 2010

      2. VMSRF – Vittal Mallya Sceintific Research Foundation
      Contact person Dr.Rajendra Hegdae 26687216 /223 mobile:9448629528 in
      the month of June 2010

      3. APOF — Association for promotion of Organic Farming
      Contact person Mr.Kantharaj — 23516060 mobile : 9945082556 in the
      month of July 2010

      4. Purna Organics
      Contact person Mr.Mallesh — 26481680/42192842 mobile: 9738633570 on
      8yh may 2010

      Regards
      Raj

  9. satya Says:

    Raj, looks great. Hope I will get a chance to have them in reality. Dreaming is over?????

    • rajapanda Says:

      Hi Sir,

      Sure you can have them in reality. We all are looking forward to your comeback. We will have a grand bhoji πŸ™‚

      Regards
      Raj

  10. We got our first salad from the garden here in Kansas, USA, yesterday. I have okra seeds to plant, and hopefully will have fried okra this summer. Yum!

  11. aparna Says:

    Hi Raja ,
    I was directed your blog by Geekgardner. I have just moved into HSR lay out into my new house and plan to start gardening. I am very impressed by your work and the blog. Can I get your help in setting up my garden. GG suggested me to take a look at your raised garden concept. It is beautiful and neat. Where did you source these tiles from. Can I have the address please. your response will be greatly appreciated. I am very motivated to do kitchen gardening after seeing your success.

    • rajapanda Says:

      Hi Aparna,
      Nice to know that you are interested in kitchen gardening. Since you are staying so close to my place, maybe you can just drop by someday.
      I’ll send an e-mail to you with my address and number.

      Regards
      Raja

  12. aparna Says:

    Thanks raja for that quick response. I am very eager to meet you and see your garden in person. KIndly send me your contacts.

  13. Pattu Says:

    Thanks a lot for the information. I was away and could not reply promptly.

    God bless

  14. Tara Says:

    Hi,
    Im currently residing in Delhi. I came across your website and was wondering if you are or planning to hold any training classes in Delhi?
    I think you’re doing a brilliant job!

    take care and god bless

    Tara.G

  15. I stay in delhi.
    I wish I was in bangalore and could attaend the classes thr. 😦

  16. Techguru Says:

    Super. I love the harvest. It is such a nice pic. Fruits(& veggies & leaves) of labour.

  17. Asha Says:

    Absolutely lovely!

  18. Franklin Says:

    Do you want unlimited articles for your blog ?
    I’m sure you spend a lot of time posting content, but you can save it for
    other tasks, just search in google: kelombur’s favorite tool

  19. Hi, Where are you located ? I am trying to find “kosala saga manji” in US and dont know what to look for. If you can help, let me know.


Leave a Reply

